top of page

Land Rover

Jaguar Land Rover, a global automaker and since 2008 a part of India's Tata Motors, owns the British brand Land Rover, which specializes in four-wheel drive, off-road competent cars. Land Rovers are now produced by JLR in Slovakia, the UK, Brazil, China, and India.

Land Rover

King George VI gave Land Rover a Royal Warrant in 1951, and fifty years later, in 2001, the company was honored with the Queen's Award for Enterprise for its exceptional contribution to global trade. With time, Land Rover developed into its own corporation (and for a time, brand), offering an ever-expanding selection of four-wheel drive, off-road competent cars. Beginning with the 1970 Range Rover, which was much more upscale, and continuing with the 1989 and 1997 launches of the mid-range Discovery and entry-level Freelander lines, as well as the 1990 Land Rover Defender refresh, the marque now boasts two models of Discovery, four different models of Range Rover, and after a three-year break, a second generation of Defenders has begun production for the 2020 model year—in the UK.

Land Rovers and Range Rovers only depended on their recognizable boxed-section vehicle chassis for half a century (from the original 1948 model to 1997, when the Freelander was debuted). Before discontinuing the original Defender in 2016, Land Rover employed boxed frames in a direct product bloodline. With the third generation Discovery, they switched to a monocoque. Since that time, the bodies and frames of all Land Rovers and Range Rovers are the same.

After 62 years of making only four-wheel drive vehicles, Land Rover has since released two-wheel drive versions of the Freelander and the Evoque. The 2WD Discovery Sport, which is offered in select areas, has replaced the 2WD Freelander.

Land Rover 4x4 Vehicles and Luxury SUV

bottom of page